Buddhist Women’s Association (BWA)

Buddhist Women’s Association (BWA)

About BWA

BWA members work diligently and tirelessly for the betterment of Temple, youth, and Dharma School.  BWA contributes to the needs of the affiliated organizations through Dana (selfless giving) and Temple activities, where many friendships are formed.

Previous slide
Next slide

The BWA is open to women and men of all ages. Dues are $20 per year.

BWA is the only Temple organization under the BCA and through district assessment, that is requested to help fund ministers and their spouse whether active or retired for koden, oseibo, orei, and other funds. We are also assessed to fund active ministers’ continuing education and the Wheel of Dharma publication.

BWA Cabinet

President: Reiko Murakami
Recording Secretary: Lois Okino
Corresponding Secretary: Miyo Takegami
Treasurer: Joan Aoki
Historian: Kimi Nishimura
Co-Religious Chairpersons: Lorrie Kitasoe and Shirley Matsumoto
Official Delegates: Reiko Murakami and Toshiko Uyehara
Minister/Advisor: Reverend Mukojima

BWA Zone Chairs

Zone 2: Kiyoko Sato, Kimi Nishimura
Zone 3: Carolyn Sakae
Zone 4: Aiko Sugimoto-Miyamoto
Zone 5: Reiko Murakami
Zone 6 & 7: Joyce Tamaru, Julie Ushiba
Zone 8: Misao Tanouye
Zone 9: Lorrie Kitasoe
Zone 10 & 11: Marie Ochi-Jacobs
Zone 12 & 13: Shizue Hiroshige, Miyo Takegami